2019 National League (NL) MVP Award: Predictions and Odds

What is the NL MVP Award?

Awarded to the best player in each of baseball’s two leagues, the American and National, the Most Valuable Player Award is the biggest award that any player can receive in their career in Major League Baseball.

The award is special because it is a symbol of excellence that holds significance when a player’s career is gauged by Hall of Fame voters after the player retires from baseball.

How is the National League MVP Award Decided?

The NL MVP Award is given by a group of baseball writers. Each baseball team in the National League is represented by two writers that follow the team they are voting on behalf of for the award.

These voters use their ballots to assign a place for the players they believe are praiseworthy of the award.

Once their ballot are filled out, voters will have selected a first through tenth place player for the award in whichever league they are voting within, whether it be the American or National League.

The votes are then counted by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America, who utilizes a weighted formula to tally the final totals and name an eventual winner of the accolade.

Since the leagues split their voting in 1931, there has only been one tie for the National League MVP. That anomaly occurred in 1979 when Keith Hernandez and Willie Stargell both won the NL MVP trophy.

Who Has Won the Most MVP Awards?

Barry Bonds leads the National League and all of baseball with seven MVP trophies. Bonds won three MVP awards in four years in the early 1990s, then won four straight NL MVP crowns from 2001-2004 with San Francisco.

Next to Bonds, the St. Louis Cardinals slugger Albert Pujols won three NL MVP trophies in five years with his first coming in 2005 and his last in 2009.

Other National League superstars to win three MVP trophies include Philadelphia third baseman Mike Schmidt and Cardinals first baseman Stan Musial.

Catcher Roy Campanella also won three NL MVP Awards with the Brooklyn Dodgers.

Who are Recent Winners of the National League MVP Award?

Last season, Christian Yelich was traded to the Milwaukee Brewers from the Miami Marlins and the move gave the right fielder a chance to play in hitter friendly Miller Park.

Yelich had a torrid second half on his way to the 2018 NL MVP Award as he hit .326, with 118 runs, 110 RBI and 36 homers to almost pull off the triple crown in the senior circuit.

Although the award is rarely given out to a pitcher, in 2014, the Dodgers’ Clayton Kershaw put an impressive season on the books and was handsomely rewarded with the first NL MVP Award to a pitcher since Bob Gibson in 1968.

Other superstars to win the top prize in the National League include Chicago Cubs third baseman Kris Bryant in 2016 and Philadelphia outfielder Bryce Harper in 2015 when he played for the Washington Nationals.

Who are the Favorites to win the 2019 NL MVP Award?

Cody Bellinger

The Los Angeles Dodgers’ first baseman has had a true breakout season in 2019.

As of August 1st, Bellinger was third in the NL in batting average, first in on-base percentage, first in runs scored, second in homers and just eight RBI behind the leader Josh Bell.

Bellinger’s monster season has been buoyed by the fact that the Dodgers are plowing through all of NL competition on their way to a seventh straight NL West title.

The 24-year old is hitting .328 with 86 runs, 80 RBI and 34 homers, all impressive statistics for a full season, but mind blowing when you consider that Bellinger has done this with two months left in the season.

His primary competition is last season’s MVP Christian Yelich and with the strength of his Dodgers club and sheer numbers he continues to put up, it may be Bellinger’s award to lose over the last third of the year.

PlayerNational League MVP Award WinnerLink
Cody Bellinger-143Bet Now

* 21+ | NJ only | If you or someone you know has a gambling problem, call 1-800-GAMBLER

Christian Yelich

Although Yelich is second in the NL MVP race, his numbers in 2019 appear to be ready to eclipse the career-highs he posted last season.

Through August 1st, Yelich has hit 36 homers, driven in 81 runs and crossed the plate 79 times. And for good measure, Yelich has stolen 23 bases on 25 attempts.

Any other year Yelich would be walking his way to a back-to-back NL MVP crown but Bellinger’s hot start has certainly captured the minds and hearts of voters.

For Yelich, it would certainly help if his mediocre Brewers team would go on a hot streak and get away from the .500 line and back into the driver’s seat in the NL Central.

PlayerNational League MVP Award WinnerLink
Christian Yelich+160Bet Now

* 21+ | NJ only | If you or someone you know has a gambling problem, call 1-800-GAMBLER

Anthony Rendon

After Bryce Harper left in free agency to Philadelphia, there was great concern that the Washington Nationals would struggle to score runs.

That concern has been widely alleviated by the career season that third baseman Anthony Rendon has put together for Nationals.

Rendon is hitting .317 with 23 homers, 77 runs and 80 RBI through August 1st. His line for the season isn’t close to Bellinger or Yelich, but he worthy of NL MVP consideration.

PlayerNational League MVP Award WinnerLink
Anthony Rendon+1600Bet Now

* 21+ | NJ only | If you or someone you know has a gambling problem, call 1-800-GAMBLER

Pete Alonso

The 2019 Home Run Derby champion has been a rookie sensation for the New York Mets this year.

Alonso has hit 34 homers and driven in 77 runs through August 1st, numbers that will surely win him the Rookie of the Year in the National League.

But when it comes to the MVP, Alonso’s .254 average and poor July have put him in the middle of the pack for the award.

PlayerNational League MVP Award WinnerLink
Pete Alonso+2200Bet Now

* 21+ | NJ only | If you or someone you know has a gambling problem, call 1-800-GAMBLER

Who Will Win the 2019 National League MVP Award?

Although players like Rendon and Alonso have been spectacular in their own right this season, the NL MVP will come down to Bellinger and Yelich.

For Bellinger, he has the tremendous numbers and plays for the best team in the National League. Over the final two months, Bellinger could certainly falter and struggle over the course of a month, but there are few signs to show this may happen.

When you consider the season that Yelich is having for Milwaukee and how it is better thus far than what he did in 2018, it is hard to completely dismiss his chances.

Yelich’s second half last year was the stuff of legends, and baseball experts wouldn’t be surprised to see the outfielder find that late season magic once more and make the NL MVP a true photo finish.

Winner the NL MVP Award: Odds

PlayerNational League MVP Award WinnerLink
Cody Bellinger-143Bet Now
Christian Yelich+130Bet Now
Anthony Rendon+1600Bet Now
Pete Alonso+2200Bet Now
Ronald Acuna Jr.+2500Bet Now
Nolan Arenado+2500Bet Now
Kris Bryant+2500Bet Now
Javier Báez+2500Bet Now
Freddie Freeman+2500Bet Now
Ketel Marte+2500Bet Now
Josh Bell+4000Bet Now
Charlie Blackmon+6600Bet Now
Paul DeJong+6600Bet Now
Bryce Harper+6600Bet Now
Manny Machado+6600Bet Now
Max Muncy+6600Bet Now
Trevor Story+6600Bet Now
Josh Donaldson+8000Bet Now
Yasmani Grandal+8000Bet Now
Anthony Rizzo+8000Bet Now
Justin Turner+8000Bet Now
Eduardo Escobar+10000Bet Now
Rhys Hoskins+10000Bet Now
Mike Moustakas+10000Bet Now
Max Scherzer+10000Bet Now
Corey Seager+10000Bet Now
Juan Soto+10000Bet Now
Ozzie Albies+12500Bet Now
Wilson Contreras+12500Bet Now
J.T. Realmunto+12500Bet Now
Michael Conforto+25000Bet Now
Marcell Ozuna+25000Bet Now
Jean Segura+25000Bet Now

* 21+ | NJ only | If you or someone you know has a gambling problem, call 1-800-GAMBLER