When you sign-up through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more >

New Zealand Women vs Bangladesh Women 3rd T20I: New Zealand Women Strong at Home

Written by: Rohit Sankar
Updated December 6, 2022
11 min read
  • New Zealand Women have claimed all three T20Is played against Bangladesh.

  • New Zealand Women have won five of their previous T20Is while Bangladesh have lost their last four. 

  • New Zealand Women have several in-form players and are strong at home. 

New Zealand Women vs Bangladesh Women Odds



New Zealand Women



Bangladesh Women



New Zealand Women vs Bangladesh Women Prediction and Pick

New Zealand and Bangladesh women have only faced each other in three T20 internationals, all of which have been won by New Zealand. The hosts have a significantly stronger side on paper. We predict New Zealand Women to win the 3rd T20I on Wednesday.   

New Zealand Women vs Bangladesh Women

Predicted XI 

New Zealand Women: Sophie Devine (c), Suzie Bates, Georgia Plimmer, Rebecca Burns, Amelia Kerr, Maddy Green (wk), Lauren Down, Hayley Jensen, Lea Tahuhu, Eden Carson, Fran Jonas

Bangladesh Women: Murshida Khatun, Fargana Hoque, Nigar Sultana (c & wk), Ritu Moni, Rumana Ahmed, Jahanara Alam, Dilara Akter, Nahida Akter, Salma Khatun, Sharmin Akhter, Marufa Akter

Bangladesh Women Look To Avoid Clean Sweep Against Formidable New Zealand Women

New Zealand have sealed the T20I series against Bangladesh with a 2-0 unassailable lead. The visitors will be looking to defeat the White Ferns for the first time if they are to avoid the whitewash when they meet in Queenstown on Wednesday. 

The Sophie Devine-led side hammered Bangladesh women in the first T20I by 132 runs after skittling out the visitors for just 32. The second game was slightly more competitive as the hosts claimed a 37-run victory in Dunedin. 

Marufa Akter and Ritu Moni had kept the lid on New Zealand, keeping them to 71 for 4 in 12 overs. But then Amelia Kerr and Maddy Green joined hands to smash an unbeaten 77-run stand in the last eight overs. Amelia scored 46* off 30 balls while Green struck a 25-ball 37 not out to push the total to 148/4. 

Bangladesh's chase could not get going at all after losing two early wickets. Sharmin Akhter and captain Nigar Sultana added 45 runs for the third wicket but the scoring rate was way behind what was required. For New Zealand, Hayley Jensen picked 2 for 12 while Fran Jonas, Lea Tahuhu, and Eden Carson bagged a wicket each. 

Team News

New Zealand Women have a formidable side in both departments. Two veterans Suzie Bates and Sophie Devine form a destructive opening pair. They're followed by Georgia Plimmer, Rebecca Burns, Amelia Kerr, and Maddy Green. Amelia adds immense value to the side as a leg-spinning all-rounder. They have quality bowling options in Hayley Jensen, Lea Tahuhu, and Fran Jonas. Having won the series, a change or two can not be ruled out. 

Bangladesh Women have Murshida Khatun and Fargana Hoque at the top, followed by Nigar Sultana, Ritu Moni, and Rumana Ahmed. That trio in the middle order will need to fire if Bangladesh are to put up a fight. In the bowling attack, the visitors have Nahida Akter, Salma Khatun, Sharmin Akhter, and Marufa Akter. Marufa was superb in the previous outing, picking 2 for 22 in four overs. They are likely to make a couple of changes. 

Key Players 

Amelia Kerr is amongst the most valuable T20 players in the world. In the last three T20 innings, she has scored 43, 27, and 46* while also picking two scalps. She has an outstanding overall record in the format, having scored over 2300 runs at an average of 25 while striking at 112. Melie Kerr has snared 221 wickets with her leg-break bowling at an economy of 5.76. 

Lea Tahuhu has had a stellar career in limited-overs cricket. The veteran right-arm pacer has taken 183 wickets in overall T20s at an economy of 6.07. Tahuhu was magnificent in the first T20I, picking a career-best 4 for just 6 runs in her four overs. If not rested, Tahuhu will be a player to watch out for.

Match Details

What: New Zealand Women vs Bangladesh Women, 3rd T20I

Where: John Davies Oval, Queenstown

When: December 6, 2022 / 7:30 PM EST 

How to watch:

  • Amazon Prime Video (India)

  • SportsMax (Caribbean)

  • Fox Sports & Channel 7 (Australia)

  • Sky Sport NZ (New Zealand)

  • SuperSport (South Africa)

  • Willow TV (USA)

  • Sky Sports Cricket (United Kingdom)

Gambling Problem? Call 1-800-GAMBLER 21+ must be physically located in VA. T&Cs Apply.
Claim Now
Image for Rohit Sankar


Rohit Sankar

161 Articles

Rohit is a cricket enthusiast striving to convey the finer details of the game in a capsule. He hopes to present a bird's eye view of the game, as he sees it, to the readers. He is smitten by the likes of ABD but crushes on pace bowlers who can make the ball talk. Email: [email protected]

More info on Rohit Sankar
We've been featured on:
espn logo
reuters logo
cbs-news logo
forbes logo
entrepreneur logo
entrepreneur logo
We only list licensed sportsbooks

© Rebel Penguin ApS 2024 (a subsidiary of Gaming Innovation Group Inc.)

We support responsible gambling. 21+ Only. Gambling problem? Call 1-800-Gambler.

WSN.com is run by iGaming Cloud Inc (a Gaming Innovation Group Subsidiary) and is registered with the New Jersey Division of Gaming Enforcement (DGE) under affiliate vendor ID 89744, with the Indiana Gaming Commission (IGC) under certificate of registration number SWR-000148, approved by the Pennsylvania Gaming Control Board as a gaming service provider, under certificate registration number 117656-1, possesses a Vendor Minor sports betting license from the Colorado Limited Gaming Control Commission (account number 94414163), granted a vendor registration number VR007603-20-001 by the Michigan Gaming Control Board, an interim Sports Wagering Supplier license, under license number SWS 066, issued by the West Virginia Lottery Commission, a sports betting vendor registration, under registration number #100400, issued by the Director of Gaming Licensing and Investigations of the Virginia Lottery to operate in the State of Virginia, and a Vendor Registration issued by the Sports Wagering Committee of the Tennessee Education Lottery Corporation.

Advertising disclosure: WSN contains links to online retailers on its website. When people click on our affiliate links and make purchases, WSN earns a commission from our partners, including ESPN and various sportsbooks.