When you sign-up through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more >

American Gambling Awards Names Four Finalists for Mobile Sportsbook of the Year

Written by: Mike Lukas
Updated November 14, 2022
7 min read
  • The American Gambling Awards Celebrates the Best in the Gambling Industry
  • Online Sportsbook Award Finalists: Caesars, DraftKings, FanDuel Group, Fubo Gaming
  • Responsible Gaming Award Finalists: AGA, CCPG, DraftKings, and Entain Fdn. U.S.
American Gambling Awards Finalists

The American Gambling Awards Celebrates Those Responsibly Developing the Market

In the U.S., the movie industry has the Academy Awards, for television they give out Emmys and in music they present Grammys to the best performers, so it makes sense that the U.S. gambling industry has the American Gambling Awards and all nominees were just announced.

The American Gambling Awards are the idea of the Gambling.com Group Limited, a “leading provider of player acquisition services for the regulated global online gambling industry,” and they provide a panel of expert judges to award the best of the best in the legal gaming field.

The top movie stars earn Oscars, and similarly, the best in the gambling industry earn the Golden Eagle trophy, an 11-inch, gold-plated, cast-pewter statuette of an American Bald Eagle, proudly resting in front of a pile of casino chips.

These are a dozen categories competing for a Golden Eagle:

  • Online Sportsbook of the Year

  • Online Casino

  • Fantasy Sports Site of the Year

  • Gaming Product of the Year

  • Betting Product of the Year

  • Platform Provider of the Year

  • Data Service Provider of the Year

  • Payment Service Provider of the Year

  • Responsible Gaming Award

  • Dealmaker of the Year

  • Policymaker of the Year

  • Regulator of the Year

Each category has four nominees, too many to list, but we will go over the two that relate directly to the sports betting world: Online Sportsbook of the Year and the Responsible Gaming Award.

Online Sportsbook Award Finalists: Caesars, DraftKings, FanDuel Group, Fubo Gaming

The Online Sportsbook Award goes to the best mobile operator that takes bets on sporting events and pays out winnings, with these four as the nominees:

  • Caesars – owned by Caesars Entertainment, an American hotel, and casino entertainment company.

  • DraftKings – an American daily fantasy sports contest and sports betting company.

  • FanDuel Group – an American gambling company that offers sportsbook, daily fantasy sports, horse racing, and online casino.

  • Fubo Gaming - an American mobile sports betting operator.

Responsible Gaming Award Finalists: AGA, CCPG, DraftKings, and Entain Fdn. U.S.

The Responsible Gaming Award is another American Gambling Award category that relates directly to sports betting and goes to the industry leader that is “responsibly developing the regulated online American casino and sports betting market” with these four as 2022 nominees:

  • AGA – the American Gaming Association (AGA), a U.S. gambling industry association for their ‘Have a Game Plan’ program for mitigating problem gambling.

  • CCPG – the Connecticut Council on Problem Gambling, advocates for problem gambling funding and operators of a live helpline.

  • DraftKings – an American sports betting company that has pioneered a systems-based approach to addiction training.

  • Entain Foundation U.S. – a non-profit organization dedicated to promoting responsible gambling by sponsoring former NBA player Charles Oakley’s initiative to offer gaming education.

According to the press release, Gambling.com will announce the twelve Golden Eagle Award winners in December, no doubt with a proper ceremony for industry insiders donning designer gambling gowns and tuxedoes on a red carpet where attendees can pose for the Paparazzi.

When the Golden Eagle winners are announced next month we will bring you their names so do keep checking back for all the latest updates on this story.

Image for Mike Lukas


Mike Lukas

1204 Articles

Mike Lukas is a retired standup comedian turned freelance writer now living in Dallas, Texas, originally from Cleveland, Ohio. His love for the game of football and all things Cleveland Browns turned Mike into a pro blogger years ago. Now Mike enjoys writing about all thirty-two NFL teams, hoping to help football gamblers gain a slight edge in their pursuit of the perfect wager. Email: [email protected]

More info on Mike Lukas
We've been featured on:
espn logo
reuters logo
cbs-news logo
forbes logo
entrepreneur logo
entrepreneur logo
We only list licensed sportsbooks

© Rebel Penguin ApS 2024 (a subsidiary of Gaming Innovation Group Inc.)

We support responsible gambling. 21+ Only. Gambling problem? Call 1-800-Gambler.

WSN.com is run by iGaming Cloud Inc (a Gaming Innovation Group Subsidiary) and is registered with the New Jersey Division of Gaming Enforcement (DGE) under affiliate vendor ID 89744, with the Indiana Gaming Commission (IGC) under certificate of registration number SWR-000148, approved by the Pennsylvania Gaming Control Board as a gaming service provider, under certificate registration number 117656-1, possesses a Vendor Minor sports betting license from the Colorado Limited Gaming Control Commission (account number 94414163), granted a vendor registration number VR007603-20-001 by the Michigan Gaming Control Board, an interim Sports Wagering Supplier license, under license number SWS 066, issued by the West Virginia Lottery Commission, a sports betting vendor registration, under registration number #100400, issued by the Director of Gaming Licensing and Investigations of the Virginia Lottery to operate in the State of Virginia, and a Vendor Registration issued by the Sports Wagering Committee of the Tennessee Education Lottery Corporation.

Advertising disclosure: WSN contains links to online retailers on its website. When people click on our affiliate links and make purchases, WSN earns a commission from our partners, including ESPN and various sportsbooks.