Bundesliga Title Winner Prediction, Odds, Picks 2024

Written by: Greg Lea
Updated April 15, 2024
4 min read
  • The Bundesliga 2023/24 season began on August 18 and will end on May 18

  • The campaign will feature 34 rounds of fixtures spread over a nine-month period

  • Bayer Leverkusen won the Bundesliga title on April 14

The Bundesliga 2023/24 title winner has been decided: Bayer Leverkusen are the new champions. 

Bayern Munich were strong favorites to win the prize. They had claimed the title in each of the previous 11 seasons and were widely expected to do so again. Instead, Leverkusen sprung a major surprise. 

Check out more information about the Bundesliga title below.

Bundesliga 2023/24 Title Winner Odds

The odds for the Bundesliga 2023/24 title winner are no longer available. Bayer Leverkusen were crowned as German champions after thrashing Werder Bremen 5-0 on April 14.

This has been a spectacular season for Leverkusen. Bayern Munich have performed well below expectations, but Xabi Alonso’s side are worthy title winners. This is the first time in the club's history that Leverkusen have won the title.

Best Soccer Sportsbook Promos
How We Rate
Affiliate Disclaimer
Bundesliga Title Winners Odds

Who Will Win the Bundesliga 2023/24 Title?

Who Has Won the Most Bundesliga Titles?

ClubNumber of Titles
Bayern Munich33
Borussia Dortmund8
Hamburg 6
Borussia Monchengladbach5
Werder Bremen4

The Bundesliga was only formed in 1963, which was significantly later than the equivalent national competitions in England (1888), Spain (1929), Italy (1929) and France (1932).

West Germany was slow to professionalize the game and had already won one World Cup before this happened with the launch of the Bundesliga.

The above table includes title wins in the pre-Bundesliga era. Only one of Nurnberg’s victories occurred after 1963, yet they remain the second-most successful club in German soccer history.

Bayern Munich are the only team to have reached double figures, and the fact they are 24 titles clear of second place shows that their dominance of the German game is historic as well as recent.

How Many Teams Have Won the Bundesliga Title?

Twenty-nine different clubs have won the German championship, including in the pre-Bundesliga era. Since the league was launched in its current guise in 1963, there have been 12 title winners.

By way of comparison, 12 different teams have won the English top flight since 1963 – which suggests the competitiveness of the two leagues has been similar over the last 60 years. Over in Spain, only seven clubs have won the La Liga title in the same period.

However, the last decade or so has ushered in an era of Bayern Munich dominance – as you can see below. Many argue that this is unhealthy for the Bundesliga, which only occasionally features a genuine title race.

Who Won the Last 10 Bundesliga Titles?

Bayer Leverkusen2023/24
Bayern Munich2022/23
Bayern Munich2021/22
Bayern Munich2020/21
Bayern Munich2019/20
Bayern Munich2018/19
Bayern Munich2017/18
Bayern Munich2016/17
Bayern Munich2015/16
Bayern Munich2014/15

Bundesliga Winner FAQ

What Happens if You Win the Bundesliga Title?

When is the Bundesliga Title Winner Announced?

How Can I Watch the Bundesliga on TV?

21+ | Terms and conditions apply
Claim Now
Image for Greg Lea

Greg Lea

Soccer Betting Analyst

Premier League
Champions League
La Liga
Betting Picks
Greg Lea is a freelance soccer journalist from London. He is the former editor of The Set Pieces, and has contributed to the Guardian, FourFourTwo, and ESPN. A Crystal Palace fan, he is a long-time subscriber to the belief that it's the taking part that counts.
Nationality: American
Education: Bachelor of Arts in Politics
Favourite Sportsbook: bet365 Sportsbook
Favourite Casino: BetMGM Casino
10 years
We've been featured on:
espn logo
reuters logo
cbs-news logo
forbes logo
entrepreneur logo
entrepreneur logo
We only list licensed sportsbooks

We support responsible gambling. Gambling can be addictive, please play responsibly. If you need help, call 1-800-Gambler.

WSN.com is managed by Gentoo Media. Unless declared otherwise, all of the visible content on this site, such as texts and images, including the brand name and logo, belongs to Innovation Labs Limited (a Gentoo Media company) - Company Registration Number C44130, VAT ID: MT18874732, @GIG Beach Triq id-Dragunara, St. Julians, STJ3148, Malta.

Advertising Disclosure: WSN.com contains links to partner websites. When a visitor to our website clicks on one of these links and makes a purchase at a partner site, World Sports Network is paid a commission.

Copyright © 2024