EFL Championship Playoffs 2022 Winner Predictions, Odds, Picks

  • The winner of the EFL Championship Playoffs is promoted to the Premier League
  • The EFL Championship Playoffs were introduced to the calendar in 1986/87
  • Huddersfield Town and Nottingham Forest will contest the 2022 final at Wembley
EFL Championship playoffs - Nottingham Forest

The EFL Championship Playoffs 2022 will conclude with the final at Wembley on Sunday, when one of Huddersfield Town or Nottingham Forest will win promotion to the Premier League. This is frequently called the most lucrative game in soccer, with the 2022 victors set to pocket at least $168m according to figures from two years ago.

The EFL Championship Playoffs were introduced in 1987. It was a popular move, and one which helped to enliven the second tier of the English game towards the end of each campaign. Winners of the play-offs frequently say it is the best possible way to win promotion, but losing in the final at Wembley is invariably a heart-breaking experience.

EFL Championship Playoffs Odds

The odds for the EFL Championship Playoffs are provided by Caesars Sportsbook. Click on the links in the table below to head to the sportsbook, sign-up, and place your bet.

EFL Championship Playoffs Winner Odds
Nottingham Forest +123
Huddersfield Town +250

Bet on EFL Championship Playoffs Here!

Who Will Win EFL Championship Playoffs 2022?

Nottingham Forest are the favorites to win the EFL Championship Playoffs. Steve Cooper’s side finished the regular season in fourth place, before beating Sheffield United on penalties after a 3-3 aggregate draw in the play-off semi-finals. Forest have been absent from the Premier League for 23 years and are desperate to return.

Huddersfield Town finished one place above Nottingham Forest in the Championship table, amassing two more points over the course of the 46-game season. The Terriers, who were in the Premier League as recently as 2019, beat Luton Town 2-1 in the two-legged semi-finals.

If you would like to check out more betting options available to you, make sure you have a read of our guide on how to bet on soccer.

Who Were the EFL Championship Playoffs 2021 Winners?

Brentford were the EFL Championship Playoffs in 2021. After finishing third in the regular season with 87 points, the Bees beat Bournemouth 3-2 on aggregate in the semi-finals, before overcoming Swansea City (who were managed by Steve Cooper, the current Nottingham Forest boss) 2-0 in the final.

Brentford had reached the final of the play-offs the previous year but suffered a 1-0 defeat by Fulham, their west London rivals, at Wembley.

Which Teams Have Won the EFL Championship Playoffs?

In addition to the multiple winners listed in the table below, 15 teams have won the EFL Championship Playoffs on a single occasion.

EFL Championship Playoff Winners Victories Years
Crystal Palace 4 1989, 1997, 2004, 2013
West Ham United 2 2005, 2012
Watford 2 1999, 2006
Hull City 2 2008, 2016
Swindon Town 2 1990, 1993
Bolton Wanderers 2 1995, 2001
Charlton Athletic 2 1987, 1998
Leicester City 2 1994, 1996
Fulham 2 2018, 2020

Bet on Soccer Here!

Which Teams Have the Worst Records in the EFL Championship Playoffs?

Team Unsuccessful Attempts Successful Attempts
Ipswich Town 7 1
Derby County 7 1
Reading 5 0
Sheffield United 5 0
Wolverhampton Wanderers 4 1
Brighton & Hove Albion 4 0
Cardiff City 4 0
Preston North End 4 0
Birmingham City 4 1
Leeds United 3 0
Millwall 3 0
Tranmere Rovers 3 0
West Bromwich Albion 3 0
Nottingham Forest 3 0
Sunderland 3 0

How Many Teams Get Automatic Promotion From the Championship?

Two teams get automatic promotion from the Championship. The two sides that amass the most points throughout the 46-game campaign bypass the play-offs and go straight to the Premier League.

How Do the Playoffs Work in the Championship?

The teams that finish third, fourth, fifth, and sixth in the Championship enter the play-offs, the winner of which is promoted to the Premier League alongside the top two.

The first stage of the play-offs is the semi-finals. Unlike tournaments such as the FA Cup, the League Cup and the Champions League, there is no draw to decide who plays who. The third-place finisher always plays the sixth-place finisher, and the fourth-place finisher always plays the fifth-place finisher.

The semi-finals are held over two legs, with the side that finishes higher up the table playing the second leg at home since this is widely deemed to be advantageous. If the two teams are level on aggregate after 180 minutes, an additional 30 minutes of extra time is played. If there is still nothing separating them, a penalty shoot-out is held.

The winners of the semi-finals advance to the final, which is staged as a one-off game at Wembley.

Why Were the EFL Championship Playoffs Introduced?

In the 1985/86 season, three clubs – Norwich City, Charlton Athletic and Wimbledon – were automatically promoted from the Championship (which was then called the Second Division). The following year, two clubs were automatically promoted and one went up a league through the play-offs.

The EFL Championship Playoffs were introduced as part of a ten-point plan to encourage soccer fans to return to stadia. They were originally supposed to last for only two years, but the immediate popularity of the end-of-season tournament meant the play-offs became a permanent fixture.

The play-offs are a rich source of drama and entertainment, while they also keep the regular season interesting for longer.

What Time Is the Championship Playoff Final?

The Championship play-off final will take place at 11.30am Eastern Time on Sunday 29 May 2022.

How Can I Watch the EFL Championship Playoffs on TV?

Soccer fans based in the United States can watch the Club World Cup 2022 on ESPN+.

Bet on Soccer Here!

More International Soccer Predictions & Odds

Germany vs Italy: Mannschaft Struggling to Turn Draws Into Wins
Germany vs Italy: Mannschaft Struggling to Turn Draws Into Wins
We bring you all the relevant information, including odds, tips, and predictions, for Germany vs Italy in the Nations League …
14 June | 04:28 | Greg Lea
Netherlands vs Wales: Gareth Bale and Co Should Be Able to Get on the Scoresheet in Rotterdam
Netherlands vs Wales: Gareth Bale and Co Should Be Able to Get on the Scoresheet in Rotterdam
Here is our in-depth preview – including the top tips and picks – of Netherlands vs Wales in the UEFA Nations League! …
14 June | 03:50 | Greg Lea
Netherlands vs Poland: There Could Be Goals at Both Ends
Netherlands vs Poland: There Could Be Goals at Both Ends
Here is our in-depth Netherlands vs Poland prediction preview in the UEFA Nations League! See the best betting tips, hot picks and top tips! …
10 June | 08:52 | Greg Lea

Greg Lea

Expert on Soccer

Greg Lea is a freelance soccer journalist from London. He is the former editor of The Set Pieces, and has contributed to the Guardian, FourFourTwo, and ESPN. A Crystal Palace fan, he is a long-time subscriber to the belief that it's the taking part that counts. Email: [email protected]