When you sign-up through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more >

2023 Heisman Trophy Winner: Predictions, Odds & Best Bets

Written by: Richard Janvrin
Updated November 21, 2023
10 min read
  • The Heisman Trophy was first awarded in 1935 to Chicago halfback Jay Berwanger

  • Since 2000, a quarterback has won the award 19 times

  • A defensive player hasn’t won the award since Charles Woodson in 1997. 

Each year, the Heisman Trophy is awarded to the “most outstanding” player in all of College Football. While some may argue this award has turned into a bit of a “best quarterback,” there have been other positions to win as recently as 2020 when then-Alabama wide receiver DeVonta Smith took home the award.

However, as we await the start of the 2023-24 season, you’ll find that the top nine players odds-wise, are all quarterbacks.

Here, we’ll look at some top odds and offer betting picks you should consider making.

Heisman Trophy Odds

Odds for this award are no longer available!

Heisman Trophy Odds Predictions

Best Bets

The Heisman Trophy is considered a quarterback award. It makes sense for the 2023 season, and the 2024 award—the group of quarterbacks here and those that will enter the 2024 NFL Draft is loaded with talent. 

Below are our three best bets for the Heisman Trophy, which has, more or less, become a two-player race.  

Jayden Daniels, LSU (-110) at FanDuel

The LSU Tigers might be 8-3 this season after losses to Alabama, Ole Miss, and Florida State, but quarterback Jayden Daniels has been electric all year. 

In the passing game, he’s completing 71.4% of his passes for 3,576 passing yards, 36 touchdowns and just four interceptions. In the rushing game, he has 1,124 yards and ten touchdowns.

So, he has over 4,500 total yards and 46 touchdowns. Those are unfathomable numbers, especially playing in the SEC. 

His success hasn’t correlated to his team’s success, but in their losses, they allowed 45 to Florida State, 55 to Ole Miss, and 42 to Alabama. 

He’ll have a chance to solidify his campaign in Week 13 against the Texas A&M Aggies. 

Bo Nix, Oregon (+150) at FanDuel

Next, we have Bo Nix, who’s +150, and his Ducks have just one loss this season with a chance at the College Football Playoff. 

Nix has completed almost 78% of his passes for 3,485 yards and 35 touchdowns this season. He has just two interceptions. On the ground, he has 152 yards and five touchdowns. 

When it comes to him versus Daniels, will the voters choose a player with over 4,500 yards of offense, 46 touchdowns, and three losses or Nix, who has two fewer interceptions, six fewer touchdowns, a better completion percentage, and a team with a chance at making it to the College Football Playoff? 

If Nix wins the Pac-12 title, he should secure the Heisman. 

Michael Penix Jr., Washington (+600) at FanDuel

Penix Jr. was a long-time Heisman favorite, but he’s had a few down games. This season, he’s completing 66.6% of his passes for 30 touchdowns and seven interceptions. He also has three rushing touchdowns but hardly any rushing yards. 

For Penix Jr. to pull this off, he’d need a poor game from Daniels, a loss in Week 13, and Nix and the Ducks to lose some games. 

It’s a tough path to Heisman victory for Penix Jr.

Past Heisman Winners

The Heisman Trophy has been awarded yearly for the most outstanding College Football player since 1935.

Below is a chart showcasing each winner since the turn of the century in 2000.

Caleb Williams, QB, USC2022
Bryce Young, QB, Alabama2021
DeVonta Smith, WR, Alabama2020
Joe Burrow, QB, LSU2019
Kyler Murray, QB, Oklahoma2018
Baker Mayfield, QB, Oklahoma2017
Lamar Jackson, QB, Louisville2016
Derrick Henry, RB, Alabama2015
Marcus Mariota, QB, Oregon2014
Jameis Winston, QB, Florida State2013
Johnny Manziel, QB, Texas A&M2012
Robert Griffin III, QB, Baylor2011
Cam Newton, QB, Auburn2010
Mark Ingram, RB, Alabama2009
Sam Bradford, QB, Oklahoma2008
Tim Tebow, QB, Florida2007
Troy Smith, QB, Ohio State2006
Reggie Bush, RB, USC2005 (Vacated)
Matt Leinart, QB, USC2004
Jason White, QB, Oklahoma2003
Carson Palmer, QB, USC2002
Eric Crouch, QB, Nebraska2001
Chris Weinke, QB, Florida State2000
Logo #1



Bet $5, Get $150 in Bonus Bets

21+ | Terms and conditions apply

Logo #2



$500 Bonus Bet

21+ | VA only | Gambling problem? Call 1-800-532-3500

Who Is the Favorite to Win the 2024 Heisman Trophy Award

Which College Team Has the Most Heisman Trophy Winners?

How Is the Heisman Trophy Winner Determined?

Which Position Has the Most Heisman Trophy Wins?

21+ | Terms and conditions apply
Claim Now
Image for Richard Janvrin


Richard Janvrin

548 Articles

After graduating from the University of New Hampshire with a BA in Journalism, Richard Janvrin has been covering iGaming and sports betting since December 2018. Richard has covered betting at Bleacher Report, Gambling.com, The Game Day, Forbes, and more.

More info on Richard Janvrin
We've been featured on:
espn logo
reuters logo
cbs-news logo
forbes logo
entrepreneur logo
entrepreneur logo
We only list licensed sportsbooks

© Rebel Penguin ApS 2024 (a subsidiary of Gaming Innovation Group Inc.)

We support responsible gambling. 21+ Only. Gambling problem? Call 1-800-Gambler.

WSN.com is run by iGaming Cloud Inc (a Gaming Innovation Group Subsidiary) and is registered with the New Jersey Division of Gaming Enforcement (DGE) under affiliate vendor ID 89744, with the Indiana Gaming Commission (IGC) under certificate of registration number SWR-000148, approved by the Pennsylvania Gaming Control Board as a gaming service provider, under certificate registration number 117656-1, possesses a Vendor Minor sports betting license from the Colorado Limited Gaming Control Commission (account number 94414163), granted a vendor registration number VR007603-20-001 by the Michigan Gaming Control Board, an interim Sports Wagering Supplier license, under license number SWS 066, issued by the West Virginia Lottery Commission, a sports betting vendor registration, under registration number #100400, issued by the Director of Gaming Licensing and Investigations of the Virginia Lottery to operate in the State of Virginia, and a Vendor Registration issued by the Sports Wagering Committee of the Tennessee Education Lottery Corporation.

Advertising disclosure: WSN contains links to online retailers on its website. When people click on our affiliate links and make purchases, WSN earns a commission from our partners, including ESPN and various sportsbooks.