Image for Varun Shetty Varun Shetty - October 14, 2022

MLS Cup Winners Odds, Predictions, Betting Picks 2022

  • Major League Soccer 2022 season has been underway since 26 February, 2022
  • The campaign is divided into a regular season and playoffs 
  • New York City FC are the defending MLS Cup champions 

The Major League Soccer 2022 is now into its 7th month of the season and the table is really starting to take shape with the regular season moving into its business half. There have been some massive additions to the league this summer with Los Angeles FC’s acquisitions of Gareth Bale and Giorgio Chiellini right on top.

Toronto FC haven’t been too far behind with the purchases of Lorenzo Insigne and Federico Bernadeschi. DC United have also named Wayne Rooney as manager and Inter Miami, owned by David Beckham, are into their second full season.

This has been a massive season for Major League Soccer as far as the brand goes with so many of the biggest names in soccer for the last 10 to 20 years having some association with its franchises.

Some American talents like Matt Turner and Brenden Aaronson have left to pursue a career in Europe and Valentin Castellanos, one of the best players in the league in the last 18 months, has also moved to Europe, but the profile of the MLS has definitely risen in a matter of months.

The MLS is always a very tight affair and calling a title winner is difficult because the league form doesn’t matter as much once the tournament gets into the playoffs – like any knockout format, the day of the match has quite a bit of bearing on the eventual results. This is why 10 teams have odds available OF +2500 or shorter, which is almost unheard of in the major European soccer leagues, which at most have three- or four-horse races for the titles. You can see as much in our guide to betting on the English Premier League title.

Major League Soccer Winner Odds

The odds for the Major League Soccer 2022/23 Title Winner are provided by BetMGM sportsbook. See if sports betting is legal in your state, here.

Team Odds
Los Angeles FC +225
New York City FC +700
Philadelphia Union +700
Austin FC +1200
New York Red Bulls +1400
CF Montreal +1900
Nashville SC +2000
FC Dallas +2500
Minnesota United +2500
Toronto FC +2500
Columbus Crew +2800
Seattle Sounders +3000
Los Angeles Galaxy +3300
Orlando City +3300

*odds as of Aug 5, 2022

Play Fantasy Sports Here!

SI Sportsbook


Bet $20 Win $200

21+ CO, VA, MI Only | Terms and conditions apply

Mls Cup

Who Will Win The MLS 2022 Title?

Los Angeles FC were the favorites to win the Major League Soccer title in 2022 after the first couple of months but the additions of Giorgio Chiellini and Gareth Bale have furthered that.

Eastern Conference sides New York City FC and Philadelphia Union have also been mighty impressive this season and have amassed around the same number of points as Los Angeles FC but lack the real star power that Los Angeles FC do at the moment.

Austin FC also deserve an honorable mention for keeping a distance from the rest of the Western Conference sides along with Los Angeles FC.

To learn about all your different MLS betting options, make sure you read our guide on how to bet on soccer.

Who Are The Current MLS Title Holders?

New York City FC are the current Major League Soccer title holders after beating the Portland Timbers in last season’s MLS Cup final. This was their first MLS Cup after knocking on the door for many years by building some highly competitive teams.

Which Club Has Won The Most Major League Soccer Titles?

Los Angeles Galaxy are the most successful Major League Soccer team with five titles. They’re followed by DC United and LA Galaxy, who have both won it four times.

There’s then a gap with many other sides winning it once or twice.

Who Won the Last 10 MLS Cup Titles?

  • 2021 – New York City FC
  • 2020 – Columbus Crew
  • 2019 – Seattle Sounders
  • 2018 – Atlanta United
  • 2017 – Toronto FC
  • 2016 – Seattle Sounders
  • 2015 – Portland Timbers
  • 2014 – Los Angeles Galaxy
  • 2013 – Sporting Kansas City
  • 2012 – Los Angeles Galaxy

How Many Teams Have Won the Major League Soccer Cup?

Sixteen different sides have won the Major League Soccer Cup since it began. This goes to show just how competitive the league is.

What Was MLS Called Before?

Major League Soccer was preceded by a league called the North American Soccer League (NASL), which existed from 1968 until 1984. The MLS was founded in 1993. The league currently consists of 28 teams, 25 from the USA and three from Canada, and could soon expand to 30 teams in the next few years, with the addition of teams from St. Louis and Sacramento.

What Happens if You Win the Major League Soccer Title?

Since 2008, the winner of the MLS Cup has been presented with The Philip F. Anschutz Trophy. It is a silver trophy and was preceded by the Alan I. Rothenberg Trophy between 1996 to 1998 and a second version of the Rothenberg Trophy from 1999 to 2007. A gold star is also added to the crest of a team with each win.

When Is the Major League Soccer Winner Announced?

The Major League Soccer winner will be revealed after the final whistle of the MLS Cup finals. Since the MLS uses a playoff format, it’s a straight knockout till the last team is standing. This year, the final will take place on 9 October, 2022.

How Can I Watch Major League Soccer on TV?

If you’re based in the United States, you can watch MLS on any of the following broadcast partners’ channels:

  • ABC
  • ESPN/ESPN2/ESPN Deportes
  • Fox/FS1/FS2/Fox Deportes
  • UniMás/Univision/TUDN

In Canada, you can watch the MLS on these networks:

  • TVA/TVA Sports
  • DAZN

Kick-off times usually range from 6.00 PM to 8.30 PM (EST).

Latest MLS Articles

View More
Image for Varun Shetty


Varun Shetty

191 Articles

Varun is a web journalist who has been writing on sports for 13 years. He took a shine for the MLS during the 2021 season and has been following it and writing about it since, alongside his work involving the English Premier League, La Liga, and the Serie A. He is deeply interested in soccer analytics and strategy and has aspirations to move into coaching at some point. Email: [email protected]

More info on Varun Shetty
We've been featured on:
espn logo
reuters logo
cbs-news logo
forbes logo
entrepreneur logo
entrepreneur logo
We only list licensed sportsbooks

© Rebel Penguin ApS 2023 (a subsidiary of Gaming Innovation Group Inc.)

We support responsible gambling. If you feel like you're losing control over your gambling experience, call 1-800-GAMBLER (NJ, PA, WV), 1-800-9-WITH-IT (IN), 1-800-BETS-OFF (IA), 1-800-522-4700 (NV), 1-800-522-4700 (CO, TN), 1-855-2CALLGA (IL), 1-800-270-7117 (MI). is registered with the New Jersey Division of Gaming Enforcement (DGE) under affiliate vendor ID 89744, with the Indiana Gaming Commission (IGC) under certificate of registration number SWR-000148, approved by the Pennsylvania Gaming Control Board as a gaming service provider, under certificate registration number 117656-1, possesses a Vendor Minor sports betting license from the Colorado Limited Gaming Control Commission (account number 94414163), granted a vendor registration number VR007603-20-001 by the Michigan Gaming Control Board, an interim Sports Wagering Supplier license, under license number SWS 066, issued by the West Virginia Lottery Commission, a sports betting vendor registration, under registration number #100400, issued by the Director of Gaming Licensing and Investigations of the Virginia Lottery to operate in the State of Virginia, and a Vendor Registration issued by the Sports Wagering Committee of the Tennessee Education Lottery Corporation.

Advertising disclosure: WSN contains links to online retailers on its website. When people click on our affiliate links and make purchases, WSN earns a commission from our partners, including ESPN and various sportsbooks.