Image for Greg Lea Greg Lea - January 24, 2023

Women's World Cup 2023 Winner: Stage is Set in Australia and New Zealand

  • The Women’s World Cup 2023 is due to take place in July and August
  • This will be the ninth edition of a tournament that was first held in 1991
  • Australia and New Zealand were picked to co-host the 32-team tournament 

The Women’s World Cup 2023 will take place in Australia and New Zealand this July and August. Thirty-two teams from across the globe will compete in the ninth edition of the competition, which was founded back in 1991.

This will be the first Women’s World Cup to feature 32 teams after an expansion from 24 last time around. The USA are the reigning champions following their triumph in France four years ago.

Matches at this year’s tournament will be held in five cities in Australia (Adelaide, Sydney, Brisbane, Perth, and Melbourne), and four in New Zealand (Wellington, Auckland, Dunedin, and Hamilton).

Women's World Cup 2023 Odds

The odds for the Women's World Cup 2023 are provided by the DraftKings Sportsbook, which has a special offer of a deposit bonus worth up to $1000.

Women's World Cup 2023 Winner






















Women's World Cup 2023

Who Will Win the Women's World Cup 2023?

The USA are the favorites to win the Women’s World Cup 2023 with the best online sportsbooks. The four-time champions have long been the team to beat in the women’s game and they will arrive in Australia and New Zealand later this year with the belief that they can lift the trophy.

England won the Women’s Euro 2022 at home last year and will be full of confidence heading into the World Cup. However, it will be trickier for Sarina Wiegman’s side to triumph on foreign soil than it was in front of their own fans last summer. England are the second-favorites as things stand.

Elsewhere, Germany, Spain and France look set to provide a strong challenge, while Australia will hope to benefit from the support of the locals. Sweden and the Netherlands could be dark horses.

Who Were the Women’s World Cup 2019 Winners?

The USA were the Women’s World Cup 2019 winners, lifting the trophy for a record-extending fourth time. 

They won all three of their group games, beating Thailand, Chile and Sweden, then overcame Spain, France and England to reach the final, where they dispatched the Netherlands.

The Dutch also won all three group games against Canada, Cameroon and New Zealand. They reached the final thanks to triumphs over Japan, Italy and Sweden.

Which Teams Have Been Most Successful at the Women’s World Cup?

Women’s World Cup WinnersVictoriesMost Recent Victory

How Does the Women’s World Cup Work?

The 32 teams have been divided into eight groups of four. The top two in each group will advance to the knockout phase, which begins with a round of 16.

Games in the knockout rounds are one-legged ties, with extra time and (if needed) penalty shoot-outs determining the winner if the score is level after 90 minutes.

As you will see below, there are still three places in the Women’s World Cup 2023 up for grabs, with play-offs due to be held in February.

Who Will Win the Women's World Cup 2023?

Group AGroup BGroup CGroup D
New ZealandAustraliaSpainEngland
NorwayIrelandCosta RicaChile or Haiti or Senegal

Group EGroup FGroup GGroup H
Portugal or Cameroon or ThailandTaiwan or Paraguay or Panama or Papua New GuineaCameroonSouth Korea

How to Watch the Women's World Cup 2023 on TV?

  • Dates: 20 July 2023 - 20 August 2023
  • Location: Australia and New Zealand
  • How To Watch: Fox Sports
Logo #1



Bet $100 get a $100 FREE BET

21+ | T&Cs apply

Logo #2



$500 Free Bet

21+ | VA only | Gambling problem? Call 1-800-532-3500

Where Will the Women's World Cup 2023 Be Held?

The Women’s World Cup 2023 will be held in Australia and New Zealand. The joint bid won 22 votes, winning the rights ahead of Colombia (13 votes).This is the first time the Women’s World Cup will be staged in Oceania, having previously been held in Europe (Sweden, Germany, France), Asia (China twice) and North America (Canada, and the USA twice).

How Much Are Tickets to the FIFA Women’s World Cup?

Tickets for the Women’s World Cup 2023 are already on sale. If you are hoping to attend a match in Australia or New Zealand, be aware that seats for several games are selling out quickly.An individual match ticket for an adult costs $21 (US dollars) and a seat for a child is priced at $10.50. The final is more expensive at $28 for adults and $14 for kids.Fans are also able to buy team or stadium passes so that they can follow their favorite side or attend every match at a particular ground.

When Did the Women’s World Cup Begin?

The Women’s World Cup was launched in 1991. Only 12 teams took part in the maiden edition of the competition, which was held in China and won by the USA.However, there were football tournaments held for women before FIFA finally decided to found an official competition at the beginning of the 1990s. Indeed, an unofficial World Cup was first staged in Italy in 1970, with Denmark beating the hosts in the final of a seven-team event.The 1970s saw the establishment of many different women’s national teams across the world, and further unofficial tournaments took place before FIFA belatedly launched their own version 32 years ago.Since 1991, the Women’s World Cup has been held every four years. The 2023 edition in Australia and New Zealand promises to be the biggest yet.

Image for Greg Lea


Greg Lea

657 Articles

Greg Lea is a freelance soccer journalist from London. He is the former editor of The Set Pieces, and has contributed to the Guardian, FourFourTwo, and ESPN. A Crystal Palace fan, he is a long-time subscriber to the belief that it's the taking part that counts. Email: [email protected]

More info on Greg Lea
We've been featured on:
espn logo
reuters logo
cbs-news logo
forbes logo
entrepreneur logo
entrepreneur logo
We only list licensed sportsbooks

© Rebel Penguin ApS 2023 (a subsidiary of Gaming Innovation Group Inc.)

We support responsible gambling. If you feel like you're losing control over your gambling experience, call 1-800-GAMBLER (NJ, PA, WV), 1-800-9-WITH-IT (IN), 1-800-BETS-OFF (IA), 1-800-522-4700 (NV), 1-800-522-4700 (CO, TN), 1-855-2CALLGA (IL), 1-800-270-7117 (MI). is registered with the New Jersey Division of Gaming Enforcement (DGE) under affiliate vendor ID 89744, with the Indiana Gaming Commission (IGC) under certificate of registration number SWR-000148, approved by the Pennsylvania Gaming Control Board as a gaming service provider, under certificate registration number 117656-1, possesses a Vendor Minor sports betting license from the Colorado Limited Gaming Control Commission (account number 94414163), granted a vendor registration number VR007603-20-001 by the Michigan Gaming Control Board, an interim Sports Wagering Supplier license, under license number SWS 066, issued by the West Virginia Lottery Commission, a sports betting vendor registration, under registration number #100400, issued by the Director of Gaming Licensing and Investigations of the Virginia Lottery to operate in the State of Virginia, and a Vendor Registration issued by the Sports Wagering Committee of the Tennessee Education Lottery Corporation.

Advertising disclosure: WSN contains links to online retailers on its website. When people click on our affiliate links and make purchases, WSN earns a commission from our partners, including ESPN and various sportsbooks.