AFC Championship Predictions & Odds 2021/2022

AFC Championship

  • With Patrick Mahomes under center in KC, the Chiefs are favored to win the AFC 
  • The Buffalo Bills look capable on both sides of the ball and could win the AFC honors
  • The longshot for this prop bet is the ever-changing / diminishing Houston Texans.

Bet on AFC Championship, Here!

Only one team from each NFL conference gets to go to the Super Bowl, and the reigning AFC champion Kansas City Chiefs are favored to win this honor in 2021/22 once again, so we offer our predictions, odds, and picks to help you make a smart (and early) bet here. Good luck!

AFC Championship Odds

Odds taken from DraftKings Sportsbook, updated on March 29, 2021.

Kansas City Chiefs+250
Baltimore Ravens+625
Buffalo Bills+650
Cleveland Browns+1200
Indianapolis Colts+1200
Miami Dolphins+1300
New England Patriots+1400
Los Angeles Chargers+1600
Pittsburgh Steelers+1600
Tennessee Titans+1600
Denver Broncos+2800
Las Vegas Raiders+2800
Jacksonville Jaguars+3000
New York Jets+3000
Cincinnati Bengals+4000
Houston Texans+6000

Odds from DraftKings. Get up to a $1,000 sign-up bonus at DraftKings today or check out more offers and promo codes for the best online sportsbooks.

AFC Championship Winner Predictions and Picks

The Browns under Coach of the Year Kevin Stefanski could shock the pro football world in 2021, but if you are putting money on it you might be better off taking the Chiefs in this one since they are still talented and now out to make up for that last Super Bowl disappointment.


Kansas City Chiefs

How to Watch 2021/22 NFL Regular Season

NFL Regular Season
What2021/22 NFL Regular Season
WhereUSA + International
WhenThu, Sept 9 thru TBD
How to watchCBS/ESPN/Fox/NBC/NFLN

Favorites to Win

Kansas City Chiefs

Despite their abundance of talent, the Kansas City Chiefs’ front office will be dealing with difficult salary-cap issues this offseason, made even more difficult by the 10-year $450 million contracts that star quarterback Patrick Mahomes just signed.

From the looks of it, HC Andy Reid and GM Brett Veach are going to be mostly content with fielding the same team as made it to the Super Bowl last season and “try and do it again,” a doable plan when you have playmakers like Mahomes, WR Tyreek Hill and TE Travis Kelce on your roster.

How the Chiefs use the upcoming draft and free agency period will help determine their moves to shore up the defense while keeping that pesky salary cap in mind, but where there is a will there is a way and in Kansas City they have gotten used to making complicated game plans run smoothly.

Buffalo Bills

These Bills with young, mobile quarterback Josh Allen leading the way, came up one game short of winning the AFC Championship last season, losing to the Chiefs, 24-38 while impressing the rest of the league with their play along the way.

The number of players in Buffalo becoming household names is staggering, from receivers Stefon Diggs and John Brown and running back Devin Singletary to defensive end Jerry Hughes and defensive tackle Ed Oliver, all young talent that solidifies the Bills’ future.

The AFC is now competitive in all four of its divisions, with Buffalo now leading the teams in the east, but to make it all the way to the end of the postseason and into Super Bowl LVI will take a team balanced on both sides of the ball, which the Bills have proven to be.

Baltimore Ravens

Baltimore is another team dealing with strict salary cap issues, and they still have some roster holes to fill on both sides of the ball, so the front office will have to get creative this offseason and find the hidden free agent gems that are now available.

Doesn’t hurt that the Ravens have arguably one of the top NFL QB’s under center in Lamar Jackson, a young, elusive playmaker who is as dangerous with his legs as he is with his arm, an athletic phenomenon who is only getting started, now entering just his fourth pro season.

The Ravens seemed to have an offseason last year, and despite ending with an 11-5 record and earning a wild card slot in the playoffs, they never seemed to get their offensive game plan together and came up short, losing to the Bills in the Divisional playoffs by the lopsided score of 3-17.

Bet on AFC Championship, Here!

No Chance to Win

Houston Texans

Nobody is really sure what is happening to the Houston Texans this offseason, but they have already lost defensive start J.J. Watt and now it looks like they will not have unhappy quarterback Deshaun Watson for the upcoming 2021/22 season.

After a miserable 4-12 season in 2020 and failing to make the playoffs, it will take some impressive offseason moves for Texans GM Nick Caserio to turn that sinking ship around, especially given the salary cap concerns that Houston will be dealing with like many NFL franchises right now.

If they do indeed lose Watson, then goal number one this offseason will be to score a proper starting quarterback, but not too many free agent QBs are licking their chops about playing in Houston, so it will be interesting to see how this rebuilding team pulls it off.

AFC Championship Winners

Team# of AFC Championships
Pittsburgh Steelers16
New England Patriots15
Las Vegas / Los Angeles / Oakland Raiders11
Denver Broncos10
Miami Dolphins7
Baltimore / Indianapolis Colts7
Buffalo Bills5
Houston Oilers / Tennessee Titans5
Baltimore Ravens4
Los Angeles / San Diego Chargers4
New York Jets4
Kansas City Chiefs4
Jacksonville Jaguars3
Cleveland Browns3
Cincinnati Bengals2
Seattle Seahawks1
Houston Texans0
Tampa Bay Buccaneers0

More NFL Futures Predictions & Odds

More NFL Futures Predictions & Odds

NFL Drafft First Pick
First Overall Pick NFL Draft Predictions & Odds 2021
The 2021/2022 NFL Draft happens end of April, the start of May, so we go over our predictions, odds, and picks for the highly coveted first overall pick.
13 April | 03:17 | Mike Lukas
2nd Overall Pick
2nd Overall Pick NFL Draft Predictions & Odds 2021
The 2021/2022 NFL Draft happens end of April, the start of May, so we go over our predictions, odds and picks for the critical second overall pick.
13 April | 03:15 | Mike Lukas
First Offensive Lineman
First Offensive Linemen Selected NFL Draft Predictions & Odds 2021
NFL offensive linemen protect valuable QBs and run block so we share our predictions, odds and picks for which prospect will be selected first in the NFL Draft.
13 April | 03:11 | Mike Lukas

Mike Lukas

Expert on NFL

Mike Lukas is a retired standup comedian turned freelance writer now living in Dallas, Texas, originally from Cleveland, Ohio. His love for the game of football and all things Cleveland Browns turned Mike into a pro blogger years ago. Now Mike enjoys writing about all thirty-two NFL teams, hoping to help football gamblers gain a slight edge in their pursuit of the perfect wager.

Email: [email protected]