When you sign-up through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more >

Men's Wooden Award Winner Predictions, Betting Odds & Favorites to Win 2024

Written by: Grant Mitchell
Published March 11, 2024
8 min read
  • Zach Edey is expected to win his second Wooden Award

  • Dalton Knecht is second in betting odds

The John R. Wooden Award is handed out yearly to the most outstanding player in college basketball, and with just over a month left until the national championship game, the oddsmakers are targeting Purdue’s Zach Edey as the frontrunner for the award.

The 7-foot-4 big man is a sizable favorite, but there’s still time for changes to the prevailing opinion. Here’s everything you need to know about betting and the history of the Wooden Award.

2024 NCAA Men’s Wooden Award Odds

Odds Courtesy of DraftKings Sportsbook. Follow our link and place your Wooden Award bets at DraftKings.

Name School Odds
Zach Edey Purdue -2500
Dalton Knecht Tennessee +1500
RJ Davis North Carolina +3000
Hunter Dickinson Kansas +7000
Tyler Kolek Marquette +8000
Tristen Newton UConn +8000
Kyle Filipowski Duke +8000
Johnell Davis FAU +9000
DaRon Holmes II Dayton +9000
Jaedon LeDee San Diego State +9000
Caleb Love Arizona +10000
LJ Cryer Houston +10000
KJ Simpson Colorado +10000
Armando Bacot North Carolina +15000
Baylor Schierman Creighton +15000
PJ Hall Clemson +15000
David Jones Memphis +15000
Kevin McCullar Kansas +15000
Johni Broome Auburn +15000
Wooden Award Winner Predictions

2023-24 Men’s Wooden Award Winner Favorites

C Zach Edey (-2500) - Purdue

Edey won the Wooden Award last year and still found a way to up his game, averaging 24.1 points, 11.7 rebounds, and 2.2 blocks on 62.3% field goal shooting for an elite Purdue squad. He and the Boilermakers were tragic victims of Fairleigh Dickinson University in March Madness, making them the second No. 1 seed to lose in the first round of a tournament, but he’ll have his chance at revenge in just a couple of weeks.

G Dalton Knecht (+1500) - Tennessee

Knecht flourished in his first year at Tennessee after two years at Northern Colorado, averaging 20.7 points and 4.8 rebounds on 40.6% three-point shooting as UT sat near the top of the national rankings for most of the season. He’s clearly the best player on one of the nation’s best teams and is the pillar of hope as they look to make its first Final Four

G RJ Davis (+3000) - North Carolina

Davis led the Tar Heels with 21.5 points, 3.8 rebounds, and 3.5 assists on 41.7% three-point shooting. He’s a shifty shot-creator with a great command of the court and was the best player in the ACC, which is why UNC has a realistic chance of making a run in March Madness.

2023-24 Men’s Wooden Award Pick: Zach Edey (-2500) at DraftKings

Purdue’s big man has individual statistics and achievements combined with team success. Granted, his ultimate goal of a national championship will take precedence after last year’s shocking first-round exit, but he’s been one of the most impactful players in the country and is a massive favorite for a reason.

Head over to DraftKings to bet on our pick and get a No Sweat First Bet up to $1,000!

Men’s Wooden Award History

Who Won the Men’s Wooden Award in 2023?

Purdue center Zach Edey won the Wooden Award in 2023 after averaging 22.3 points, 12.9 rebounds, and 2.1 blocks.

Who Has Won the Men's Wooden Award?

2023Zach EdeyPurdue
2022Oscar TshiebweKentucky
2021Luka GarzaIowa
2020Obi ToppinDayton
2019Zion WilliamsonDuke
2018Jalen BrunsonVillanova
2017Frank Mason IIIKansas 
2016Buddy HieldOklahoma
2015Frank KaminskyWisconsin
2014Doug McDermottCreighton
2013Trey BurkeMichigan
2012Anthony DavisKentucky
2011Jimmer FredetteBYU
2010Evan TurnerOhio State
2009Blake GriffinOklahoma
2008Tyler HansbroughNorth Carolina
2007Kevin DurantTexas
2006J.J. RedickDuke
2005Andrew BogutUtah
2004Jameer NelsonSaint Joseph’s
2003T.J. FordTexas
2002Jason WilliamsDuke
2001Shane BattierDuke
2000Kenyon MartinCincinnati
1999Elton BrandDuke
1998Antawn JamisonNorth Carolina
1997Tim DuncanWake Forest
1996Marcus CambyUMass
1995Ed O’BannonUCLA
1994Glenn RobinsonPurdue
1993Calbert CheaneyIndiana
1992Christina LaettnerDuke
1991Larry JohnsonUNLV
1990Lionel SimmonsLa Salle
1989Sean ElliottArizona
1988Danny ManningKansas
1987David RobinsonNavy
1986Walter BerrySt. John’s
1985Chris MullinSt. John’s
1984Michael JordanNorth Carolina
1983Ralph SampsonVirginia
1982Ralph SampsonVirginia
1981Danny AingeBYU
1980Darrell GriffithLouisville
1979Larry BirdIndiana State
1978Phil FordNorth Carolina
1977Marques JohnsonUCLA

Men’s Wooden Award FAQ

Has Anyone Won the Men’s Wooden Award More than Once?

When is the Men’s Wooden Award winner revealed?

Where is March Madness 2024?

When is March Madness 2024?

21+ | Terms and conditions apply
Claim Now
Image for Grant Mitchell


Grant Mitchell

490 Articles

Grant is a sports and sports betting journalist who prides himself on delivering breaking news and insightful analyses of the industry. Grant graduated from Virginia Tech in 2021 and is feverishly pursuing his ambitions in the sports betting field.

In his free time, Grant can be found passionately watching sports, doing a workout, or searching for adventure with his friends.

More info on Grant Mitchell
We've been featured on:
espn logo
reuters logo
cbs-news logo
forbes logo
entrepreneur logo
entrepreneur logo
We only list licensed sportsbooks

© Rebel Penguin ApS 2024 (a subsidiary of Gaming Innovation Group Inc.)

We support responsible gambling. 21+ Only. Gambling problem? Call 1-800-Gambler.

WSN.com is run by iGaming Cloud Inc (a Gaming Innovation Group Subsidiary) and is registered with the New Jersey Division of Gaming Enforcement (DGE) under affiliate vendor ID 89744, with the Indiana Gaming Commission (IGC) under certificate of registration number SWR-000148, approved by the Pennsylvania Gaming Control Board as a gaming service provider, under certificate registration number 117656-1, possesses a Vendor Minor sports betting license from the Colorado Limited Gaming Control Commission (account number 94414163), granted a vendor registration number VR007603-20-001 by the Michigan Gaming Control Board, an interim Sports Wagering Supplier license, under license number SWS 066, issued by the West Virginia Lottery Commission, a sports betting vendor registration, under registration number #100400, issued by the Director of Gaming Licensing and Investigations of the Virginia Lottery to operate in the State of Virginia, and a Vendor Registration issued by the Sports Wagering Committee of the Tennessee Education Lottery Corporation.

Advertising disclosure: WSN contains links to online retailers on its website. When people click on our affiliate links and make purchases, WSN earns a commission from our partners, including ESPN and various sportsbooks.