When you sign-up through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more >

Image for Greg Lea Greg Lea - Updated November 8, 2022

Copa del Rey Winner Predictions, Betting Odds, Picks 2022/23

  • The Copa del Rey is the principal cup competition in Spanish soccer
  • It was founded in 1903 and is still going strong more than 100 years later
  • Barcelona are comfortably the most successful side in the Copa’s history

The Copa del Rey is the main cup competition in Spanish soccer. It has a rich history dating all the way back to 1903, making it the oldest soccer tournament in the country played at a national level.

La Liga, by contrast, was only founded in 1929, and the Copa del Rey was in effect the national soccer championship before the league began. The name translates as ‘King’s Cup’ and was created to celebrate the coronation of King Alfonso XIII.

The 2022/23 edition of the Copa del Rey begins on October 19 and will conclude with the final on May 6. A total of 115 teams will enter the competition, but only of those will be crowned the Copa del Rey winner 2022/23.

Copa del Rey Winner 2022/23 Odds

The odds listed in the table below are brought to you by Caesars Sportsbook. Sign up today and you will receive a $1500 risk free bet – so what are you waiting for? Discover if sports betting is legal in your state, here.

Copa del Rey Winner 2022/23 Odds
Real Madrid +275
Barcelona +450
Atletico Madrid +600
Sevilla +800
Villarreal +1400
Real Sociedad +1600
Real Betis +1600
Athletic Bilbao +1800
Valencia +2000

Copa Del Ray Winner

Who Will Win the Copa del Rey 2022/23?

The Copa del Rey odds are usually similar to those for the La Liga title, so Real Madrid are the favorites for both. The reigning Spanish and European champions are the team to beat in all domestic competitions in the 2022/23 season.

Barcelona have strengthened their squad in the summer transfer market and could challenge for major trophies in Xavi Hernandez’s first full season at the helm. Atletico Madrid might view the Copa del Rey as their best chance to win silverware this campaign, so we can expect Diego Simeone to take this competition seriously.

It is interesting to note that three of the last four winners of the Copa del Rey have not been Real Madrid, Barcelona or Atletico Madrid. With that in mind, do not dismiss the credentials of clubs like Sevilla, Valencia, Real Betis and Villarreal.

For more guidance on how to bet on soccer, check out our guide – it contains some tips that you will find useful whether you are an experienced bettor or a complete beginner.

Which Club Won Copa del Rey This Season?

The Copa del Rey has not yet begun this season. The holders are Real Betis, who lifted the trophy in the 2021/22 campaign for only the third time in the club’s history.

Real Betis beat Alicante, Talavera, Real Valladolid, Sevilla, Real Sociedad and Rayo Vallecano to reach the final, where they overcame Valencia on penalties following a 0-0 draw after extra time.

Which Team Has Won the Copa del Rey Most?

ClubNumber of Victories
Athletic Bilbao23
Real Madrid19
Atletico Madrid10
Real Zaragoza6
Real Union4
Real Betis3
Real Sociedad3

Who Won the Last 10 Copa del Rey Trophies?

Real Betis2021/22
Real Sociedad2019/20
Real Madrid2013/14
Atletico Madrid2012/13

Copa Del Ray FAQ

Is the Copa del Rey a Major Trophy?

The Copa del Rey is third on the list of priorities for major Spanish sides, behind La Liga and the Champions League (or other European competitions like the Europa League or the Europa Conference League). It is the equivalent of the FA Cup in England and the DFB-Pokal in Germany.It might not be the number one target for the biggest clubs in Spain, but the Copa del Rey’s history and prestige mean it is still a prize worth fighting for. Real Betis were certainly delighted to lift the trophy in 2022.

Is the Copa del Rey Final Two Legs?

The Copa del Rey final is a one-legged affair held at a neutral venue. The semi-finals are held over two legs, with each side hosting one game. The rest of the tournament is a series of one-off games.

How Do You Qualify for the Copa del Rey?

All 20 La Liga teams and 21 from the Segunda Division take part in the Copa del Rey. They are joined by numerous sides from the Segunda Division B and the Tercera Division, plus the four semi-finalists from the previous year’s Copa Federacion de Espana, and several teams from Spain’s regional leagues. A total of 115 sides will be involved in this year’s tournament.

How Does the Copa del Rey Work?

The Copa del Rey begins with a preliminary round, contested by the lowest-ranked sides in the tournament. The vast majority of teams enter in the first round, with the exception of those that qualified for the Supercopa de Espana.Half of the sides in each round are eliminated until just two are left standing. That pair fights for the Copa del Rey trophy in the final.

What Happens if You Win the Copa del Rey?

The winners of the Copa del Rey receive a trophy, a set of medals and around €1 million ($1.2 million) in prize money. The victorious team also qualifies for the following season’s Europa League, provided they do not go on to qualify via their final position in La Liga.If that is the case, the Europa League spot is handed to the highest-placed team in the league that has not otherwise qualified for continental soccer. Both the winners and the runners-up of the Copa del Rey also advance to the next season’s Spanish Supercopa.

How Can I Watch the Copa del Rey on TV?

Soccer fans based in the United States can watch the Copa del Rey on ESPN. Kick-off times (Eastern) are usually in the afternoons of selected midweeks throughout the season.

Logo #1



Bet $5 Get $200 in Bonus Bets

21+ | Terms and conditions apply

Logo #2



$500 Free Bet

21+ | VA only | Gambling problem? Call 1-800-532-3500

Bet $20 Win $200 in Free Bets

21+ CO, VA, MI Only | Terms and conditions apply

Claim Now
Image for Greg Lea


Greg Lea

771 Articles

Greg Lea is a freelance soccer journalist from London. He is the former editor of The Set Pieces, and has contributed to the Guardian, FourFourTwo, and ESPN. A Crystal Palace fan, he is a long-time subscriber to the belief that it's the taking part that counts. Email: [email protected]

More info on Greg Lea
We've been featured on:
espn logo
reuters logo
cbs-news logo
forbes logo
entrepreneur logo
entrepreneur logo
We only list licensed sportsbooks

© Rebel Penguin ApS 2023 (a subsidiary of Gaming Innovation Group Inc.)

We support responsible gambling. 21+ Only. Gambling problem? Call 1-800-Gambler.

WSN.com is run by iGaming Cloud Inc (a Gaming Innovation Group Subsidiary) and is registered with the New Jersey Division of Gaming Enforcement (DGE) under affiliate vendor ID 89744, with the Indiana Gaming Commission (IGC) under certificate of registration number SWR-000148, approved by the Pennsylvania Gaming Control Board as a gaming service provider, under certificate registration number 117656-1, possesses a Vendor Minor sports betting license from the Colorado Limited Gaming Control Commission (account number 94414163), granted a vendor registration number VR007603-20-001 by the Michigan Gaming Control Board, an interim Sports Wagering Supplier license, under license number SWS 066, issued by the West Virginia Lottery Commission, a sports betting vendor registration, under registration number #100400, issued by the Director of Gaming Licensing and Investigations of the Virginia Lottery to operate in the State of Virginia, and a Vendor Registration issued by the Sports Wagering Committee of the Tennessee Education Lottery Corporation.

Advertising disclosure: WSN contains links to online retailers on its website. When people click on our affiliate links and make purchases, WSN earns a commission from our partners, including ESPN and various sportsbooks.