When you sign-up through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more >

Top 5 WTA Tour Premier Tournaments Winners

In 2009, the WTA introduced a significant change to its tournaments in order to modernize the Tour’s structure.

The association replaced the old five-tier categories with the new International and Premier events.

Premier Tournaments are only behind the four majors and the year-end Finals when it comes to points, prize money, and prestige.

The Premier Tournaments are split into three tiers – Premier Mandatory, Premier 5 and Premier.

Let’s take a look at the five most successful players at these tournaments.

5. Maria Sharapova – 12 Titles

Sharapova takes the fifth spot with 12 Premier Tournaments titles.

The former number 1 has three Premier Mandatory titles, five Premier 5 titles, and four Premier titles.

Having recently retired, her spot in this list is under threat.

Karolina Pliskova, with 11 Premier Tournaments titles, will likely move past the Russian.

4. Victoria Azarenka – 13 Titles

During her dominant run to the WTA’s number 1 spot, Azarenka piled up a number of Premier Tournaments titles.

The Belarusian player is tied for first place in Premier Mandatory titles, with six.

Azarenka also has three Premier 5 titles and four Premier titles.

While the two-time major champion is still active, she hasn’t won a Premier Tournament since 2016.

Azarenka enjoyed plenty of success in North America, winning the Miami Premier Mandatory three times and the Indian Wells Premier Mandatory twice.

3. Caroline Wozniacki – 16 Titles

Wozniacki was extremely successful at Premier events, placing second in the all-time list with ten titles.

The Danish star also added three Premier Mandatory and three Premier 5 titles to her count.

The former number 1 won the Connecticut Open three times and the Pacific Open twice under the Premier format.

She also enjoyed some success at the China Open, winning the Beijing Premier Mandatory event twice.

Wozniacki retired after the 2020 Australian Open, but still holds a significant advantage in third place.

2. Petra Kvitova – 19 Titles

Kvitova is the all-time leader in Premier titles, with 11.

The two-time major champion won the Connecticut Open three consecutive times.

One of the best players on grass, the Czech star also won two Birmingham Classic titles.

Kvitova has five Premier 5 titles and is a two-time Wuhan Open champion.

Her three Premier Mandatory titles all came at the Madrid Open.

1. Serena Williams – 20 Titles

Unsurprisingly, the most successful player in the Open Era is also the all-time leader in Premier Tournaments titles.

Williams is tied for first place in Premier Mandatory titles, with six, and is the all-time leader in Premier 5 titles, with seven.

The 23-time major champion won the Miami Open three times, making it her most successful tournament at the Premier Mandatory level.

Williams is also a two-time Madrid Open champion.

It’s worth remembering that Williams sat the Indian Wells Open out for 14 years following a controversy in 2001.

Combining her titles under the old and the new Premier format from 2009 onwards, Williams has an impressive total of 41 titles.

Useful Sports Betting Guides

What Are Futures Bets?

What Are Futures Bets?

19 October, 2022 | Richard Janvrin
What Are the Best Sports Betting Strategies?

What Are the Best Sports Betting Strategies?

19 October, 2022 | Richard Janvrin
Betting on Non-Marquee Sports

Betting on Non-Marquee Sports

19 October, 2022 | Richard Janvrin
We've been featured on:
espn logo
reuters logo
cbs-news logo
forbes logo
entrepreneur logo
entrepreneur logo
We only list licensed sportsbooks

© Rebel Penguin ApS 2024 (a subsidiary of Gaming Innovation Group Inc.)

We support responsible gambling. 21+ Only. Gambling problem? Call 1-800-Gambler.

WSN.com is run by iGaming Cloud Inc (a Gaming Innovation Group Subsidiary) and is registered with the New Jersey Division of Gaming Enforcement (DGE) under affiliate vendor ID 89744, with the Indiana Gaming Commission (IGC) under certificate of registration number SWR-000148, approved by the Pennsylvania Gaming Control Board as a gaming service provider, under certificate registration number 117656-1, possesses a Vendor Minor sports betting license from the Colorado Limited Gaming Control Commission (account number 94414163), granted a vendor registration number VR007603-20-001 by the Michigan Gaming Control Board, an interim Sports Wagering Supplier license, under license number SWS 066, issued by the West Virginia Lottery Commission, a sports betting vendor registration, under registration number #100400, issued by the Director of Gaming Licensing and Investigations of the Virginia Lottery to operate in the State of Virginia, and a Vendor Registration issued by the Sports Wagering Committee of the Tennessee Education Lottery Corporation.

Advertising disclosure: WSN contains links to online retailers on its website. When people click on our affiliate links and make purchases, WSN earns a commission from our partners, including ESPN and various sportsbooks.