When you sign-up through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more >

South Carolina Education Lottery 200 (Truck Series) Predictions, Odds & Picks

Written by: Reid Spencer
Updated October 14, 2022
12 min read
South Carolina Education Lottery 200
  • NASCAR Trucks return to the Lady in Black for the first time in nine seasons.
  • Accident at Gateway tightened the race for the boys on the Playoff bubble.
  • Time is running out for drivers who must win to qualify for the Truck postseason.

South Carolina Education Lottery 200 Odds

Winner  Odds
Austin Hill +500
Brett Moffitt +500
Sheldon Creed +600
Christian Eckes +650
Greg Biffle +650
Zane Smith +700
Matt Crafton +1400
Johnny Sauter +1600
Ben Rhodes +1600
Chandler Smith +1800
David Ragan +2500
Todd Gilliland +2500
Trevor Bayne +3300
Tyler Ankrum +3800
Derek Kraus +4000
Stewart Friesen +4000
Tanner Gray +6600
Raphael Lessard +6600
Ty Majeski +8000
The Field +5000


Odds from bet365. Get up to $100 in FREE credits at bet365 NJ today or check out more offers and promo codes for the best online sportsbooks.

South Carolina Education Lottery 200 Predictions and Picks

In what amounts to an old home week for retired NASCAR Cup Series drivers, Greg Biffle leads the parade of veterans to Darlington. The 2000 Truck Series champion won at Texas last year in his only NASCAR start of the season, a one-off appearance for Kyle Busch Motorsports. For this race, he’s driving the No. 24 Chevrolet for GMS Racing.

Though Biffle has never raced a Gander Truck at Darlington, he scored back-to-back NASCAR Cup Series victories there in 2005 and 2006, following an Xfinity Series win in 2004. How can you bet against The Biff at Darlington?


Greg Biffle +650

How to Watch South Carolina Education Lottery 200

South Carolina Education Lottery 200Information
What South Carolina Education Lottery 200 NASCAR Truck Series race
Where Darlington Raceway
When Sunday, September 6, 2 p.m. EST
How to Watch FS1

There are two NASCAR Gander RV & Outdoors Truck Series races left before the Playoffs, and the full-time drivers fighting for Playoff berths and postseason seeding have their own concerns. Heightening the interest in Sunday’s South Carolina Education Lottery 200, however, is an influx of veteran talent. Greg Biffle, David Ragan, and Trevor Bayne—all of whom are retired from full-time driving and all of whom raced for owner Jack Roush for at least a portion of their respective careers—are entered in this event.

The race is scheduled for 147 laps (200.1 miles), with stage breaks after 45 and 90 laps. There are no former winners in the field, not surprising since the Truck Series hasn’t raced at Darlington since 2011. In fact, only ThorSport Racing drivers Matt Crafton and Johnny Sauter, along with also-rans Jennifer Jo Cobb and Norm Benning, are the only drivers entered in Sunday’s event who have ever raced a Truck at the Lady in Black.

NASCAR Truck Series Returns to Darlington after Nine-Year Absence

Playoff contender Tyler Ankrum was two months old when the NASCAR Gander RV & Outdoors Truck Series first raced at Darlington in 2001. He had just turned 11 years old when the Truck Series last raced there.

When the field of 34 takes the green flag at one of NASCAR’s most challenging speedways on Sunday afternoon, most of the competitors will be driving into the great unknown—without the benefit of practice.

Historically, the Truck Series has raced at Darlington only six times. The late Bobby Hamilton won the inaugural race in 2001 and triumphed again two years later. Ted Musgrave took the checkered flag in the 2002 event. Kasey Kahne won in 2004 and in the last race there in 2011. Todd Bodine went to Victory Lane in 2010 when the Trucks returned to Darlington after a six-year absence.

Wreck at Gateway Has Tightened the Playoff Race for Bubble Drivers

For the first two stages of last Sunday’s Truck Series event at World Wide Technology Raceway, all was right in Todd Gilliland’s world. His No. 38 Ford was the dominant force in the Gateway 200. Gilliland swept the first and second stages and had led 75 laps before Sheldon Creed’s No. 2 Chevrolet broke loose under Gilliland’s F-150 and knocked the Ford into the outside wall and out of contention.

Gilliland finished 24th, three laps down, as his hopes of locking up a playoff berth with his first victory of the season disappeared. Instead, the disappointing result left the 20-year-old driver locked into an intense battle against Tyler Ankrum and rookie Derek Kraus for the final two spots in the postseason.

With 10 drivers set to qualify for the Playoff two races hence, Gilliland is 10th in the standings, two points behind Ankrum and 13 ahead of Kraus in 11th—with very little margin for error. In other words, Gilliland can ill afford another wreck.

Time Is Running Out for Drivers Who Need Victories to Earn Playoff Spots

Unless he wins one of the next two races, 2016 NASCAR Truck Series champion Sauter won’t have a chance to earn a second title. Likewise, Stewart Friesen, a Playoff driver last year, won’t qualify for the postseason unless he triumphs either at Darlington on Sunday or at Richmond Raceway on Sept. 10.

Friesen is 14th in the standings behind rookies Tanner Gray and Raphael Lessard, who also would need a victory to qualify for the Playoff. Sauter is in even worse shape, having dropped to 15th in the standings after an engine issue knocked him out of last Sunday’s Gateway 200 after 22 laps.

Sauter does have one advantage—experience at Darlington. In NASCAR’s top three series, Sauter has a combined 13 starts at the Track Too Tough to Tame. In the 2010 and 2011 Truck Series races at Darlington, Sauter finished fourth and ninth, respectively.

Bet on NASCAR with the best NJ sportsbooks!

Bet on NASCAR with the best PA sportsbooks!

Bet on NASCAR with the best Indiana sportsbooks!

Image for Reid Spencer


Reid Spencer

220 Articles

Award-winning motorsports writer Reid Spencer has served as lead writer for the NASCAR Wire Service for 16 years, having also spent a four-year stint as NASCAR columnist and beat writer for Sporting News. He is currently serving as president of the National Motorsports Press Association. Email: [email protected]

More info on Reid Spencer
We've been featured on:
espn logo
reuters logo
cbs-news logo
forbes logo
entrepreneur logo
entrepreneur logo
We only list licensed sportsbooks

© Rebel Penguin ApS 2024 (a subsidiary of Gaming Innovation Group Inc.)

We support responsible gambling. 21+ Only. Gambling problem? Call 1-800-Gambler.

WSN.com is run by iGaming Cloud Inc (a Gaming Innovation Group Subsidiary) and is registered with the New Jersey Division of Gaming Enforcement (DGE) under affiliate vendor ID 89744, with the Indiana Gaming Commission (IGC) under certificate of registration number SWR-000148, approved by the Pennsylvania Gaming Control Board as a gaming service provider, under certificate registration number 117656-1, possesses a Vendor Minor sports betting license from the Colorado Limited Gaming Control Commission (account number 94414163), granted a vendor registration number VR007603-20-001 by the Michigan Gaming Control Board, an interim Sports Wagering Supplier license, under license number SWS 066, issued by the West Virginia Lottery Commission, a sports betting vendor registration, under registration number #100400, issued by the Director of Gaming Licensing and Investigations of the Virginia Lottery to operate in the State of Virginia, and a Vendor Registration issued by the Sports Wagering Committee of the Tennessee Education Lottery Corporation.

Advertising disclosure: WSN contains links to online retailers on its website. When people click on our affiliate links and make purchases, WSN earns a commission from our partners, including ESPN and various sportsbooks.