AFC South Predictions, Odds & Projections 2021/2022

  • The Indianapolis Colts may try and win the division with Carson Wentz under center
  • Last season the 11-5 Titans proved they need help getting further into the postseason
  • Both the Jaguars and Texans will use the offseason to figure out who will start at QB

Bet on AFC South, Here!

For the 2021 NFL season, the AFC South has two frontrunners – Colts and Titans – and two longshots – Jags and Texans – all vying for the top position in the division, and here we go over our predictions, odds, and picks for which of the four will rise all the way in the end. Good luck!

AFC South Division Winner Odds

Odds taken from DraftKings Sportsbook, updated on September 20, 2021.

Team Odds
Tennessee Titans -115
Indianapolis Colts +150
Jacksonville Jaguars +650
Houston Texans +3000

Odds from DraftKings. Get up to a $1,000 sign-up bonus at DraftKings today or check out more offers and promo codes for the best online sportsbooks.

AFC South Games to Watch on Week 3

AFC South Division Predictions and Picks

With a bit more defensive depth added this offseason, the Tennessee Titans could have what it takes on both sides of the ball to win the AFC South outright.


Tennessee Titans

How to Watch 2021/22 NFL Regular Season

2021/22 NFL Regular Season
What 2021/22 NFL Regular Season
Where USA + International
When Thu, Sept 9 thru TBD
How to watch CBS/ESPN/Fox/NBC NFLN

Favorites to Win

Indianapolis Colts

The Colts have reportedly traded two draft picks to the Eagles for starting QB Carson Wentz, and once the smoke settles and the contracts are signed it will be a new quarterback in Indianapolis once again, this time one with Super Bowl experience and a prior positive relationship with HC Frank Reich.

Keeping the new QB protected in Indy might be a priority this offseason, especially given Wentz’s history of season-ending injuries, so expect the Colts front office, including GM Chris Ballard and Reich, to search for deals on O-linemen in the free agency market.

Some young talent upfront might be a good way to go, with some mock drafts having the Colts use their 21st selection overall to select Texas O-lineman Samuel Cosmi, whereas other mocks have Indianapolis picking up a deep threat for Wentz in Ole Miss’s Elijah Moore.

Tennessee Titans

These Titans are on an upward swing having been to the postseason two seasons in a row now, with HC Mike Vrabel finding wins with reignited QB Ryan Tannehill all while riding on the back and powerful legs of RB Derrick Henry, who keeps leading the league in rushing production.

Like most NFL franchises in 2021, however, Tennessee is facing salary cap challenges and will be forced to makes some tough decisions where some veterans will have to be let go, including talented receiver Corey Davis, who is now a free agent after posting his best NFL season yet.

Shoring up the defense and adding young depth to that side of the ball could be a priority for the Titans front office, with some mocks showing the team using their 22nd overall pick to grab South Carolina cornerback Jaycee Horn, while others have them trading that pick for even more goodies further down the draft.

No Chance to Win

Jacksonville Jaguars

Last season, the Jacksonville Jaguars posted a pathetic 1-15 regular-season record, thereby earning them the first pick in the draft overall, which most mocks have them taking Clemson star QB Trevor Lawrence, a College National Championship MVP who seems ready to step in at the NFL level.

Lawrence, a once-in-a-lifetime type of player with arm strength, accuracy, size, and a football IQ that goes beyond his twenty-one years, cannot alone make up for all that ails this rebuilding Jaguars squad, so expect them to take a few seasons before they can expect to compete in the AFC South.

Some mocks have the Jaguars using their second first-round pick, 25th overall, to give Lawrence a deep threat to target, maybe Purdue’s WR Rondale Moore, whereas other mocks have them adding young depth on the defensive side of the ball with Alabama’s defensive lineman Christian Barmore.

Houston Texans

Nobody is sure why the Houston Texans seem be to self-imploding, but over the last few seasons, they have inexplicably given away their best offensive target, WR DeAndre Hopkins, their best defensive player, DE J.J. Watt and now most likely their QB Deshaun Watson.

Nobody on the outside is too clear on why there is so much unhappiness in Houston, but now the new head coach David Culley, who was the Ravens assistant head coach and wide receivers coach for the last two season, will have to figure out how to bring his crumbling team together.

After their 4-12 season in 2020, the Texans earned the third pick overall, but last year they traded that away to the Dolphins for offensive tackle Laremy Tunsil and wide receiver Kenny Stills, though Stills is now a free agent and might not return.

Bet on AFC South, Here!

More NFL Futures Predictions and Odds

More NFL Predictions & Odds

Buffalo Bills vs Tennessee Titans Predictions, Odds, Picks MNF
Buffalo Bills vs Tennessee Titans Predictions, Odds, Picks MNF
Week 6 Monday Night Football should be an exciting AFC battle between the 4-1 Buffalo Bills and the 3-2 Tennessee Titans; predictions, odds, and picks.
15 October | 10:09 | Mike Lukas
Seattle Seahawks vs Pittsburgh Steelers, Predictions, Odds, Picks
Seattle Seahawks vs Pittsburgh Steelers, Predictions, Odds, Picks
This NFL Week 6 cross-conference SNF battle pits the Seattle Seahawks sans QB Russell Wilson against the JuJu-less Pittsburgh Steelers; predictions, odds, and picks.
15 October | 09:45 | Mike Lukas
NFL Week 6 Injury Report
NFL Week 6 Injury Report
Take a look at our NFL Injury Report that covers the status of hurt players in the most exciting games of NFL Week 6.
14 October | 11:30 | Mike Lukas

Mike Lukas

Expert on NFL

Mike Lukas is a retired standup comedian turned freelance writer now living in Dallas, Texas, originally from Cleveland, Ohio. His love for the game of football and all things Cleveland Browns turned Mike into a pro blogger years ago. Now Mike enjoys writing about all thirty-two NFL teams, hoping to help football gamblers gain a slight edge in their pursuit of the perfect wager. Email: [email protected]